Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 06, 2024, 08:23:39 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

New guy, binding question

Started by islandsewing, September 11, 2013, 01:47:29 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

islandsewing

Hi everyone, first post here. Glad I found it to help with my new adventure. I've been reading alot trying to learn as much as I can.
I live in the Bahamas, always wanted to try marine upholstery and finally decided to go for it. I've been doing as much research as I can online for a few months. Since I don't have sewing experience, I chose to go with a Sailrite Ultrafeed. I know they might be overpriced but I decided their support was worth the extra cost to get started. (If I bought a cheap machine on ebay, who would I go to for help?) I will upgrade to a better machine later.
Sunbrella, while very popular and has brand recognition, doesn't seem to be the first choice for most of the posters here. Based on what I've read, I'm going to try out Weathermax 80, Sattler and Recacril along with Sunbrella to see what I like. For those of you who don't use Sunbrella, what do you use for binding? Do you use the Sunbrella binding with other brands or not use it at all, or make your own?
My first order, which I'm waiting for delivery on now is several yards of Weathermax. I'm going to make some covers for a tools that I have and a t-top for my boat to get some practice.

bobbin