Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 10, 2024, 03:29:01 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

automatic hog ring dispenser

Started by trimacar, October 30, 2012, 09:42:59 am

Previous topic - Next topic

trimacar

A while back I worked in a shop that had an automatic hog ring dispenser, a row of hog rings stuck together (like a row of staples), put on a spring loaded carrier, so all you had to do was reach over and grab one with pliers.

Anyone know where I could acquire such?

Also looking to buy a button machine, if anyone has one for sale.

I just retired, getting back in the antique car upholstery business as a sideline, leather and tops for early (pre WWII) cars.

Thanks!  David Coco Winchester Va.

sofadoc

"Perfection is the greatest enemy of profitability" - Mark Cuban

trimacar

Hi thanks....the hog ring dispenser in that auction might be OK, the one I used had a separate dispenser, so all you had to hold was the pliers....although that one might be quicker.

I've actually bid on that button maker, the problem is not being able to tell size and condition of dies, and there don't appear to be any cutters for the material, no big deal.....but as you say if the bidding gets too high it's no ones bargain!

Thanks for reply!!!!

sofadoc

I wouldn't worry too much about the condition of the dies. I've got some that my grandmother used when I was a tot. I'm 54 now, and they still work like new. I really don't think those thing can wear out. It looks like there is at least a complete 22,30 set. Some of the other sizes may be incomplete/mismatched sets.