Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

March 19, 2024, 02:47:16 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Leather wrapping a dashboard, info or help?

Started by christwo, July 25, 2011, 03:56:18 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

christwo

A friend of mine asked me to wrap this dash in leather. I have never done one before and was wondering if some of you could throw me some tips or plans of attack, thanks

SHHR

Start by cleaning the dash very well. Chances are it's been cleaned, waxed, armor alld many times and if you don't get that residue off, the glue likely wont hold very long.

Before I would put any glue on too I would have an over sized piece of leather ready and drape it over the dashto see how it lays. Try stretching the leather over hard areas just so you'll see ahead of time how it will fit the curves especially around tough areas like the gauge area and the center console riser.

Once you're comfortable with the fit and have it centered go ahead and glue up the dash and leather. let the glue set for a while until it's dry to the touch. Then start covering from the center out. You'll have to work relatively quick so the glue don't dry too much. If it very warm in your shop or you want a little extra time only glue half, then after you're satisfied with the fit simply lift the other half of the leather that you didn't glue, apply the glue, let it set up the same, and stick it down.

Don't over stretch the leather on the flatter surfaces. You'll want to keep it snug, but not too tight, that way you'll have plenty of extra material when you really have to start stretching around the curves and sharp corners.