Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

July 07, 2024, 08:24:48 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Remaking Canvas

Started by Kathy0701, April 28, 2011, 07:47:44 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Kathy0701

Hello Friends,

First off, thanks for all the information you share.  I don't post on here often, but I read a LOT.

I'm relatively new to this (2-1/2 years) and, so far, have had pretty much straight forward projects - nothing too far out there, although I love the challenge of finding solutions to problems.  This one, though, has me scratching my head.
Customer's boat sunk & was scrapped.  He saved his canvas & wants me to use those pieces to make a new enclosure for a smaller (21' Cruisers) boat.  I'm working on an estimate now.  Here are the facts:

- sunk boat's top is SeaMark.  I should be able to work around the hole/cracks in it, and could probably make a bimini out of it.

- side curtains - cutting these off & making them fit - I guess this can be done.  How easily is anybody's guess.

- camper top & rear enclosure panels - he has none from his sunken boat - would all have to be new

Aft Curtain - the one from the sunken boat is all oil-stained...has a patch about 4' in diameter that is black.  I can't reuse this. 

Now here is where it gets ugly (to me, anyway)