Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

April 19, 2024, 05:49:15 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

camper enclosure on a Sea Ray

Started by southerncomfort, June 14, 2010, 11:21:50 am

Previous topic - Next topic

southerncomfort

I'ma newbee to this forum so bear with me please.  I have been doing canvas work for quite some time now with my husband and we are totally self taught.  I picked up a job that I can't believe I've never done before. It's a 29' boat that already has a bimini with windshield ywo side curtains and an aft cover.  The customer wants to get rid of the aft curtain and fully enclose the cockpit with another bimini and clear side curtains all around.  My problem is that the existing bimini flap is fitted.  What proceedure do I use to create a new flap to meet the new bimini?  Hop someone can help me.

fragged8

hiya

Firstly welcome to the forum, this is the best place in the world for canvas guys n gals

it would be best if you posted some pics if thats possible, the chances are that the rain flap on the existing
bimini is no good for an enclosure. ? but you know that ? right ?

If it was made right then the rain flap will be pointing almost downwards to close the gap
between the flap and the curtain. To fit an enclosure the rain flap needs to point out at 90 deg
to the frame, otherwise what will happen is the flap will be too tight against the enclosure
and create a pooling spot for water to settle.

I don't know of a way of just replacing the rain flap other than picking the thread out and separating
the fabric to remove the flap and installing a new one , perhaps if you could get away with shortening