Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

April 29, 2024, 09:45:45 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Help removing back cushion from chair

Started by wildiris, April 13, 2017, 11:22:59 am

Previous topic - Next topic

wildiris

Total newb here. In an effort to dip a toe into the shark-infested waters of furniture restoration, I bought a Stow & Davis side chair for ten bucks to refinish and reupholster. You know, the sort of thing that was probably in a doctor's waiting room with a couple tattered Life magazines on the table next to it -- potentially a fun chair, but nothing it would kill me to mess up.

But I immediately hit a snag: I cannot for the life of me figure out how to get the back cushion off! It's attached via rubber-covered... somethings. It's built like these chairs; the last 2 pics show the structure of the back: https://new.liveauctioneers.com/item/13505444_pr-stow-davis-american-modern-walnut-arm-chairs

There were screws in little metal tabs attached to the back of the chair; I removed them to no effect. What am I missing? A million thanks in advance!!!

SteveA

Hello
Don't worry we'll stop the chum line for a few suggestions.  I'm not sure what's holding the back on for your chair but you can cut away the fabric and look for clues -

SA

wildiris

HA! Thanks, SteveA. I didn't mean the people -- just that everyone I know who's tried their hand at reupholstering anything other than a dining chair has wanted to get stabby with their project piece at some point! :)