Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 02:42:21 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Looking for advice on Boat Seats

Started by BlueFlamingo, February 05, 2015, 07:44:08 am

Previous topic - Next topic

BlueFlamingo

February 05, 2015, 07:44:08 am Last Edit: February 05, 2015, 12:37:04 pm by BlueFlamingo
I'm NOT a PRO.  Just an Old Guy trying to Learn the business.  I have done some basic Flat Berth type seats and some bucket seats in my sons VW Bus but these seats are a NEW Challenge for me and I'm looking to you guys to see if you can give me some Tips of the trade!!!  The Curves and Rounded inside corners are kinda scary and I'm not real sure how I'm gunna get everything to fit right and wrinkle free.  These pics are NOT of the actual boat just samples of the Baja Boat type seats I'll be doing.  I call em Barrel Back Bucket Seats. Sooo if any of you have done this type of seat and can give me some tips and things to look out for I'd REALLY appreciate it.  I'm SCARED STIFF at the moment and Hoping beyond Hope I have NOT bitten off more than I can chew!!!!  They have top stitched French Seams and as you can see inserts etc...  I can handle all that but I'm thinking there's going to be the need for heat guns and stretching and tucking and possibly some hidden stapling straps etc.  I guess when I tear the old covers off it may "Show" me how to put the new ones back on.  I'm hopin that will be the case.  Chime in if you have some advice.

Regina NEEDS help

Curious if you ever got any input on how to handle those seats.

Virgs Sew n Sew

I do a lot of marine seats but those are a new one on me.

Virginia