Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 06, 2024, 04:28:45 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Basic sewing question

Started by islandsewing, September 18, 2013, 06:45:02 am

Previous topic - Next topic

islandsewing

Hi everyone, I have a kind of basic sewing question.

I have a sailrite ultrafeed ls1. Since I have no prior sewing experience, and no other machine to compare it to I'm not sure if it's just how it works or if something is wrong.

When I'm sewing, the material is being pulled through the machine with the walking feet. I find it very difficult to keep the stitch line straight. It kind of wobbles back and forth. I do have a magnetic sewing guide which keeps it very straight, but as you know, it can't be used on every seam.
Is there anything I can do to feed better or is it normal or is it just the machine I have. I've played around a little with the walking foot tensioner, with little change.

I've seen youtube videos with commercial machines that will run an almost perfect (from my perspective) line unassisted. If I tried that, it will probably run a circle or a figure 8.

brmax

Congratulations on the machine purchase, and Welcome to the site.
I am looking also at different new issues with machines and fabricating stuff, i wonder if the rear foot is turned slightly from parallel or if the feed dog has more / burr on top of a side making more pull on a side.  Just throwing this out someone can surley hit it shortly
Good Day

Tejas

You might want ask the question on the Sailrite forum.

http://forum.sailrite.com/
Dave

Juki 1508; Bernina 217 with CAM Reader

islandsewing