Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 10, 2024, 11:20:39 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Sewing logos in upholstery

Started by JDUpholstery, January 21, 2013, 01:59:55 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

JDUpholstery

this is my first attempt to do some custom free hand work on upholstery...actually I guess it is my second because it took me 2 tries to get it right (well right enough I can live with it)

I took a rubbing of the logo off an old Ford Tractor, then transferred it to the vinyl so I could sew it.

this is going into an late 60's Ford truck, it was definitely a trick and hope that one day I can master this particular art form

Mike

looks good had to take some time (patients)

Darren Henry

Nice job;as usual  8)

Back in my former life; that was one of the training exercises for young cobblers and those who planned on going to the fitting room to make uppers. "Write your name, using the patcher", "lay down this pattern on the shafts of western boots". And we didn't have to content with foam.

Chaulk lines get a little vague unless you sharpen your chaulk constantly.There is a silver inked pen refill available through shoe findings suppliers that is removable(most of the time).You can also make a pounce pattern and transfer it in powdered chaulk.Personally; I prefer to lay out my pattern with a sharp pencil(or printed off) on paper and attach my "stencil" to the vinyl/leather with rubber cement. It has enough tack to hole the paper steady but peels off and cleans easily once done.

Courtesy of Mr. Walter Afanasiev, Master shoe maker. R.I.P