Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 10, 2024, 06:28:47 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Joe New Guy

Started by lowbudget, July 11, 2012, 06:46:21 am

Previous topic - Next topic

lowbudget

Hi Everyone I finally decided to join the forum after lurking for years. I'm not a professional nor do I want to be one.

I usually just do upholstery for myself but have been conned into doing a couple projects for friends. I have done auto seats, snowmobile seats, motorcycle seats, saddle bags ect..

I have an old Chandler industrial straight stitch machine (non walking foot). I don't remember the model number and I'm at work here in Saudi so I can't even go see what it is. I bought this machine +-25 years ago, ordered a motor and built a stand and my first project was a set of saddle bags. Through the years it has paid for it self on various projects.

A few years ago I picked up a used Thompson Mini Walker dirt cheap. The same machine as a Sailrite. If I remember correctly they are based on a Brother design. I put on a monster wheel with a hand crank on it so I could use it wherever, whenever. I have done 3 snowmobile seats and some other projects with it so it has paid for itself also. The truth be known I didn't want to go out in the cold garage to sew those snowmobile seat covers. It fits in my spare bedroom.