Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

April 20, 2024, 01:15:07 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

how little trad upholstery do you do? 10%...25%?

Started by firefly, November 20, 2011, 02:08:49 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

firefly

As a novice and trainee I'm interested in knowing to what extent traditional upholstery is still being practised and carried out. The few Irish upholstery workshops that I know a little about seem to spend most of their time recovering modern frames. A few of the more established businesses have someone on hand to fit webbing, hessian and tie in springs when an antique presents itself, but it's not their bread and butter, and if they waited on traditional upholstery work only they'd find themselves with a lot of time on their hands.

So is this the same elsewhere? Is it the case that most workshops do little or no traditional work at all? Or is there more of it around than I imagine? I'm very curious to find out how this pans out (there are probably dramatically different regional, not to mention, national patterns, but anyway...)

Any responses most welcome! FF.

sofadoc

I would say less than 25%. Most of the antiques I get in have been recovered several times before, and most of the time, traditional methods were NOT used in the previous recovers. In most cases, a complete restoration is not in the customer's budget.
"Perfection is the greatest enemy of profitability" - Mark Cuban

kodydog

November 20, 2011, 07:23:14 pm #2 Last Edit: November 21, 2011, 04:29:25 am by kodydog