Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 12:00:40 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Boat project, first time upholstering

Started by slow96z, May 18, 2011, 07:19:54 am

Previous topic - Next topic

slow96z

May 18, 2011, 07:19:54 am Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 07:55:44 am by slow96z
I know this is a bit of an ambitious project, but I'm going to do the best I can with what I have since I cannot afford to have it done professionally.  I have lots of experience in several fields, the largest part in car audio so I have done lots of custom boxes and panels; cutting and gluing carpet and vinly is not new to me, building upholstery is another thing completely and this is new.

The boat is a 1998 Starcraft Aurora deck boat that we just picked up in S.W. Florida and hauled back to Houston 2 weeks ago.  This thing is in great shape but has sat uncovered in the sun its entire life so the interior is completely trashed.  These are the before pictures:

First cushion I did

others I will do...

Here is what I did last night with the front cushion:

Removed cover

Bad shape!

Broke cover down for patterning

Made patterns, transferred to new vinyl and cut out new pieces (No pics...)

new cover stapled on:

Installed in boat