Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

July 05, 2024, 05:45:31 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

looking for definition of vinyl weights

Started by edward, November 07, 2011, 12:03:11 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

edward

I am a newbie. I have been practicing on whatever vinyls I can find. Bought a pile of scraps from an upholstery  shop. Now I am interested in trying some projects. The problem is when I look at suppliers, I don't know what gauges are good or too thin. I have some vinyls that are too thin (cheap) and some seems really thick. I am mostly interested in automotive grade. Please give advice on what to look for.

DBR1957

Since you don't really know what you got from the local shop I wouldn't use
any of it for a job. Keep it for practice.

Get yourself some sample cards from a supplier. The cards will generally give
some technical data on the back. For cars I think the most important info is
the Wezenbeck (sp?) rub test.

I think Miami Mike can help you with some samples and info.

Rich

Naugahyde and other good brands of upholstery vinyls are generally 28-32 oz.
Rich
Everything's getting so expensive these days, doesn't anything ever stay at the same price? Well the price for reupholstery hasn't changed much in years!

Mojo

Miami Mike would be an excellent resource for you. He has forgot more about fabric then you and the rest of us will ever learn. :) He is my go-to guy for questions on vinyl, covering fabric, etc.

I am sure he will jump on here and give you his contact details. He is a great guy to deal with and I sole source everything through him. He has awesome prices as well.

Chris

Miami Mike