Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 07:22:49 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Starting Seat with Wire Edge - lots of ?'s

Started by squilts, November 21, 2010, 07:03:16 am

Previous topic - Next topic

squilts

November 21, 2010, 07:03:16 am Last Edit: November 21, 2010, 07:07:01 am by squilts
I am new to upholstery, with only a couple simple projects under my belt.  I have a Pullman "revolving seat bed" that I would like to redo as the original fabric was in shreds.  Unfortunately, when I got down to the springs, the twine tying them had all broken, so I am not sure how it was done.  The seat has what I understand is called edge wire holding the outside springs in place.

The bottom of the springs are supported with a grid of wires rather than webbing, and the top of the springs are all tied together with lighter wire.

I think the springs were only tied down from front to back.  I assume that you don't pull down the edge wire.  If the springs are already tied together with wire, do I still need to tie them with twine to secure to the frame?  Am I compressing them at all, or just securing them at the height they are at?

Once I have fabric over the springs and start adding padding, do I need to form a pad over that edge wire so that it can't be felt?
I plan on padding the seat and back with foam.  Is the "high density" stuff you can purchase at JoAnn fabrics too junky, or would it be okay?

Darren Henry

there is a very good article on spring tie-ing under "how to upholster" at the top of this page.

8)Had to give myself a refresher last week with it.