Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 11:09:24 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

First Project Ever

Started by darrenhe, May 30, 2016, 10:45:17 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

darrenhe

Hello!

I have a plywood board with measurements of 33" x 58" x 0.5". It sits on top of some IKEA Kallax shelves (2x4, lying down).

I'd like to upholster the board so that it's comfortable to sit and lie down on, and so that the edges of the board are cushioned to prevent painful bumps.

I have no experience upholstering whatsoever. I've done a little bit of research, but I'd appreciate some guidance on how I might best approach this project. Will this be like the chair upholstering instructions that I've seen online? - basically, wood -> foam -> batting -> fabric, wrap around and staple gun? Any thoughts on best material specifics to use, and are they readily available online or at Home Depot?

Sorry for the all the newbie questions, and thanks in advance for the help!

Darren

Darren Henry

Welcome to the board Darren.

Yes the technique most often used for what you want is like doing a chair. I don't know which video you watched. Some are very good---some are not. Check out a couple of them.

Quick notes;
>Cut your foam 1/2" larger than the wood all the way around. In this case 34X59).
> Two inch foam would be alright, but I'd probably go 3".
> Search your local fabricland etc... for a fabric/vinyl with very little stretch to avoid bagging over time on such a big cushion. They should also have the foam and batting.