Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 03:21:02 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Anybody know anything about Singer 3771 D43 walking needle machine?

Started by AvaBird, July 08, 2012, 07:10:14 am

Previous topic - Next topic

AvaBird

Hi all-

I'm hunting for my first industrial machine for my fledgling upholstery business. I've been plugging along with my Bernina home machine for 2 years and saw this Singer on Craigslist.  It's being sold by an upholsterer who has 7 other machines with walking feet so I'm a bit dubious about him selling the walking needle one. It has a table and new motor and supposedly works like a charm.

Would anyone be kind enough to give me their opinion?

Thanks,

Teresa

sofadoc

I've never really heard the term "walking needle" before. I assume they're talking about a compound feed walking foot machine (the needle walks with the foot). Some walking foot machines just have a stationary needle. I don't know anything about that particular Singer model.
But a compound feed walking foot machine is definately what you want.

Is this the ad?
http://boston.craigslist.org/gbs/for/3106071458.html

I notice that he didn't list an asking price. I don't think that I would "break the bank" for that one.  But for the right price, it might be a great starter machine for you.
"Perfection is the greatest enemy of profitability" - Mark Cuban

AvaBird

Thanks Sofadoc-

Yes, that's the machine:)