Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 09, 2024, 10:17:34 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Attaching buttons on a finished upholstered chair

Started by Ageorge, February 09, 2012, 10:30:51 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Ageorge

We've had this question come up a couple of times lately.  Is there a way to re-attach a covered button that has 'popped' off the inside back of a chair?  There is no deep tufting involved. We'd rather not take off the cambric and outside back fabric if possible.  Thanks in advance for any tips you may have.

ahkahn

I'm no expert, but to my knowledge without having to take everything apart, the only option would be a screw stud and a durasnap. 

Does the timesaver button tufting needle allow for this to be done with a loop back and tufting twine?

-Andrew

byhammerandhand

I've often wondered this myself.   My last job involved removing about 4 layers  off the outside back.

I've been told these http://www.perfectfit.com/15362/154600/Tools/Timesaver-Tufting-Needle.html work, but haven't ponied up the $60 or so it would take to get one plus the clasps.
Keith

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." Thomas A. Edison

sofadoc

February 09, 2012, 02:24:15 pm #3 Last Edit: February 10, 2012, 03:35:22 pm by sofadoc
Quote from: ahkahn on February 09, 2012, 12:47:35 pm
Does the timesaver button tufting needle allow for this to be done with a loop back and tufting twine?
Of course it does. That's what it's for. But I would caution. It's only as good as the backing that you're tufting into.