Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

July 03, 2024, 12:06:34 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Need help with customer who has stud pulled out of boat

Started by Kathy0701, September 08, 2010, 02:01:03 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Kathy0701

Hello,

I'm still kind of new to many aspects of marine canvas.  Maybe one of you could help me, please?

While looking at a canvas job last week, the customer showed me where a stud had been pulled out of the fiberglass and asked me to fix it.  My first thought was that we need to get a fiberglass guy for that.  When the canvas is done, a stud will go in the exact same place....which got me to thinking - is there some kind of goop I could stick in there, with a longer stud, that would hold well?  Are there special studs with bigger threads or anything else made for this situation? 

I don't want to try anything that is just going to pull out again, but if there was something like that, it would save me a ton of grief and the customer some bucks.  What do you do when you come across this?  So far, customers have gone to fiberglass guys - this was the first time anybody asked me to fix it.

Thanks for all your help!

Kathy

Peppy

I find when a screw stud pulls out it leaves a 3/16"ish hole. I drill it out 3/16" and put a 3/16" poprivet in. Then take a punch (awl/nail) and punch out the mandrel left inside. Drill out the center of the 3/16" poprivet with an 1/8" bit, and rivet a new snap in.

PITA to be sure and it doesn't always work perfectly (break bits, big rivet spins, ect...) but it's an invisible repair and better than a drywall plug.
☠ ✄ ✂ ✁ ✂ ✃ ✄ ✌ ✄ ✂ ✁  ✂ ✃ ✄  ✁ ✃ ☠