Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 14, 2024, 06:20:20 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Dangerous Job

Started by kodydog, November 05, 2017, 04:39:12 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

SteveA

When I was just out of HS I worked in a shop with 10 guys most yelling Spanish curse words to overcome the noise of the machines.  No safety requirements  - no eye wash fountain - maybe a box of band aids in the office  - poor ventilation - always in a hurry - space heaters pointed at 5 gallon buckets of contact cement to keep it flowing - no dust collection system - trip hazards like wires running across the floor - the boss yelling in Italian to get the jobs done - ate lunch with dust settling around us -   never injured and there was always something telling me to be careful no matter what's going on around me.
I went to visit my old boss last year - he's 85 and still has his hands in the business - and in his blood. 
SA

kodydog

November 11, 2017, 04:52:04 pm #16 Last Edit: November 11, 2017, 04:54:21 pm by kodydog
I'v got to tell you, I have met many carpenters/trimmers/wood workers who are missing one or 1/2 finger. The guy who built my shop is missing 1/2 digit. An elder upholsterer in this area, now retired has two fingers missing on one hand.

Be careful out there folks.
There cannot be a crisis next week. My schedule is already full.
http://northfloridachair.com/index.html

Darren Henry