Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 14, 2024, 12:28:18 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Is this style of pleated cushions common?

Started by islandsewing, April 18, 2016, 05:00:38 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

islandsewing

April 18, 2016, 05:00:38 pm Last Edit: April 18, 2016, 05:03:44 pm by islandsewing
Hi all, I've been busy with lots of jobs lately. Have a customer that wants to replace most of the damaged cushions on the boat. Everything besides the leaning post is left uncovered year round and looks like this. It's the front of the console seat and coming cushions all around a 35ish' Intrepid.
I'm relatively new to this profession and I've never run into this method of making pleated cushions. Customer wants exact replacement to match the leaning post cushions.
I haven't gotten deep into the insides yet (have to give a quote first), but it appears that the pleats have 1/2" sewfoam backing, and a small amount of the face of the vinyl is folded over and sewn together to make the pleat.
Anyone do them this way? Any tips on doing it this way?

islandsewing

Not sure what the deal is with the picture, but if you right click and choose view image, it will get much bigger.

Darren Henry

They appear to just be individual panels glued to the foam and then sewn together.They just didn't cut the two grey panels apart after they marked them. With those curves, use plenty of reference marks to keep the panels from moving around on you.
Life is a short one way trip, don't blow it!Live hard,die young and leave no ill regrets!

islandsewing