Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

June 24, 2024, 11:53:31 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Cheap furniture

Started by DDandJ, September 30, 2013, 09:00:20 am

Previous topic - Next topic

DDandJ

I know this topic has been discussed hundreds of times but I just have to rant about a chair I'm working on.

I'm an extreme hobbyist who likes to make a little money from time to time.  I actually have a paying upholstery gig!  I plan on using the payment from this gig to purchase my servo motor.  Ha ha.

The chair is a run of the mill wing back chair.  I knew by looking at it that is was not an expensive chair when new.  It's about 20 years old.  The manufacturer's sticker was still on the deck.

What a mess.  Not only is the chair cheaply made, the upholstery job is terrible!  I'm far from the expertise of you guys but even I can see how bad it is.  Cardboard on the inside and outside arms instead of webbing.  The inside and outside wing are sewn as one piece with welting which is joined in the middle of the outside back.  I swear they used interfacing as stretcher fabric.

The leg brackets on the front legs are plastic and had been stapled in place with huge staples.  The brackets were stapled on after the chair was upholstered, so I had to take them off.  What a pain that was.

I'm going to do my best to get the junk out of the chair, like the cardboard, and replace it with webbing and burlap.  I think it will make the chair feel like a nicer quiality.  I would feel bad about recovering it and leaving the cardboard and other junk in it.