Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 10, 2024, 09:24:57 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Newbie with a question

Started by polaris, July 18, 2012, 07:36:06 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

polaris

Hello all! Firstly, thank you ((admins)) very much for allowing me to join your community. I look forward to learning from everyone here and am delighted to be making your acquaintance.

I am not a professional restoration artist. I do not even know where the closest upholstery shop is to my house. Until this point my areas of expertise have been fine arts, graphic design and dressmaking. But I found a couch, and I fell in love with it and managed to convince the thrift store to sell it to me at half the listed price.

I'm teaching myself how to restore it ((Anyone have any books they'd recommend?)) and in the process learned that it's in remarkably better condition than I had suspected. In fact ((according to one furniture restoration artist I've been corresponding with online)) it's quite likely entirely authentic and in near pristine shape. Minius the displaced springs and sunken seat of course...

He even went so far as to note that the fabric covering it was likely horsehair. I didn't believe him, but a trip to the local fabric store ((Not JoAnn's)) proved that he was correct. It is horsehair. Antique horsehair from the 1860's.