Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 09, 2024, 12:26:57 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

An upholstery dummys tale

Started by hidebound, February 04, 2012, 05:34:13 am

Previous topic - Next topic

hidebound

So I was shopping with my wife (which I hate with a passion but it makes her happy) and I stopped at Harbor freight where I found a pair of pittsburg forge hog ring pliers and picked them up for $8.00. Later being an old pig farmer I stopped at the local feed store and bought a box of hog rings.

I have never needed hog rings before but I am working on a bench seat out of an old truck. i've got the covers made and am ready to install, but the hog rings will not fit in the pliers.

So I ordered a set of C.S. Osborne hog ring pliers, and the Pittsburg Forge pliers are an exact copy of the Osborne pliers. Now I am $48.00 into pliers. I can only assume that upholstery hog rings are different than the rings you install in a pigs nose.

I thought someone might be able to verify this before I spend any more money, and maybe even get a chuckle out of it.

gene

February 04, 2012, 06:17:34 am #1 Last Edit: February 04, 2012, 06:27:13 am by gene
Mr. Hidebound,

Should your topic be ("An upholstery "pig's" tail)? Or maybe not. We're talking about the other end of the pig.

You said you were shopping with your wife and stopped at Harbor Freight. I think it's great that your wife shops at Harbor Freight. My wife only goes to places like Kolhs, Meijer, Bed Bath and Beyond.