Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

July 03, 2024, 03:02:55 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

sewing vinyl

Started by drem312, March 15, 2011, 03:48:21 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Mojo

Good Lord. I had no idea you were using a Kenmore home machine.

It probably isn't going to be able to handle 138 then. Maybe Greg or Bobbin can comment on this as I have no experience with these type machines.

I have never heard of any nylon thread being weather / UV resistant. That is a new one on me. All I know is that I avoid nylon thread.

You maybe stuck sewing with 69 if your using a home machine. :(

Chris

seamsperfect

March 16, 2011, 06:42:50 am #16 Last Edit: March 16, 2011, 06:51:18 am by seamsperfect
Quote from: drem312 on March 16, 2011, 06:13:14 am
I will look again at what needle I ended up getting to work properly,, Kevin I was thinking of that sewing about a 1/16th away from the other one and trim the tab on the inside,,,i havent stapeled it yet or even cut the marine foam I really dont want to take it all apart but  the holes are small and even if i took it apart I shouldnt sew in the same holes anyway right? I tried to post but it still wont let me even after i re sized the pic... is there another way

I would do what I suggested it will work well.  At a 1/16" in you will be fine for fitment.
Quote from: drem312 on March 16, 2011, 06:16:20 am
will sunguard 138 fit in a regular household kennmore sewing machine ?

Not a chance I would say 69 would be the most I would use.  You are sewing all your upholstery with a home machine, props to you.  I would never attempt it as I think I would get frustrated.