Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 14, 2024, 12:24:27 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Cotton wraped cushions

Started by kodydog, March 31, 2016, 06:27:15 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

kodydog

March 31, 2016, 06:27:15 pm Last Edit: March 31, 2016, 06:30:28 pm by kodydog
A lady called today and wants 6 cushions recovered. Its a wicker piece from the 50's and she wants the cotton wrapped spring cushion rebuilt. She wants me to take all the old cotton off from around the springs and replace with all new cotton. I've never done this before. I've never been shown how. Rose says it doesn't seem that hard. I think it'll make a big mess. I'm always up for a challenge but don't feel good about this.

Has anyone ever rebuilt cotton wrapped spring cushions before? Are there any good alternatives?
There cannot be a crisis next week. My schedule is already full.
http://northfloridachair.com/index.html

MinUph

Without a cushion machine it will be a challenge. Disposing of the "old" cotton will make it that much harder. You will need several layers of new cotton to hide the feel of the springs. And this will add a lot of height to the unit until it is filled. Hence the cushion machine. You can suck it down with a bag and vacuum but it still will be a challenge.