Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 10, 2024, 10:15:25 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

How to get straight piping?

Started by sittvancouver.com, August 06, 2012, 04:06:24 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

sittvancouver.com

Hello,

I am also having problems with straight piping. I am a novice upholsterer, and I outsource my sewing work to a very experienced seamstress. Most of her work has been excellent, but recently I got back two seat cushions that I had sewn with contrasting piping and the piping was not straight. I thought I could fix it by making sure the cushion/foam insert was extremely tight. However, there are still some kinks in the piping. I am not sure if this is a result of the sewing or if it has anything to do with the fabric that was used for the piping? The cushion is a very nice velvet with linen for the contrasting piping.

Any suggests? I'm may just have it re-sewn using a cotton duck fabric for the piping.

Thank you.
Bonnie

sofadoc

Sometimes a lightweight fabric welt sewed over a velvet can be tricky. It might help to pre-sew the welt before sewing it onto the velvet. And the cotton duck idea is a good one. And experiment with shorter stitches.
If your seamstress is experienced, she should be able to figure out what it will take to correct the problem.
"Perfection is the greatest enemy of profitability" - Mark Cuban

baileyuph

August 06, 2012, 05:37:12 pm #2 Last Edit: August 06, 2012, 06:04:27 pm by DB