Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 10, 2024, 06:23:42 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

dot patterning - but there is no frame bow in area

Started by Judy_Boat, June 01, 2012, 07:30:36 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Judy_Boat

Hi all,
This is my first attempt at using the dot patterning method on a cover. Luckily the customers boat ( 18' flatiron) is in my driveway.

I am watching the MCTI video on patterning the convertible top many many times.I think I have the basics of the method understood. It is a way of ensuring the seam line distance is consistent between the 2 pieces to be sewn, while still allowing for parts to overlap.

On the back cover portion where the convertible cover portion zips to the rear curtain cover there is no frame.  The back portion of the convertible top has a seam in it (indicated by the red line in the picture. There is a definite dart at this point in the cover.  The yellow line is the frame bow.

Now doing the plastic pattern how do I account for this darted area.  Is it even possible to? The wide end of the dart is about 1.5"

I have lots of scrap material that at this point I am using to do trial covers. There is a lovely blue, red and purple convertible top on it at present.

Mike

I used to do top like that in NH and then i didnt make patterns