Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 06, 2024, 10:22:37 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

New to vinyl- any tricks to hold folded vinyl?

Started by Shanti Designs, July 12, 2011, 06:10:15 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Shanti Designs

I am new to working with vinyl and just bought a Consew 206RB-5.  I am making vinyl yoga mat bags with a stripe down the center like a retro golf bag.  When I assemble the stripe before mounting it on the bag, I have to tuck one side under and topstitch.  I am able to sew right sides together on the first side, then flip it over and topstitch.  It's when I get to the other side that I want to know if there is an easy way to tuck under the fabric since needles aren't an option?  I'm new to my industrial machine and feel like there might be an easy way I don't know about.  I feel like this is a newbie question and forgive me if this has been answered before.  Any tips or even a good book or website anyone would recommend?  Thanks!

Hell Bat

There maybe better tricks,but I glue them down with a little contact,I use about a 3/4 or so salvage to do this,then after sewing, pull up and cut off extra salvage so it dose not show by being bumpy.

Shanti Designs

I hadn't thought of glue.  I've been using painter's tape but it seems like there might be a trick I'm missing.  Thanks.

sofadoc

Does the stripe run from seam to seam? If so, how about this?
Let's say you have a white panel with a red stripe running down the middle of it.
Cut 2 pieces of white vinyl, 1 piece of red vinyl.
Sew one side of red face to face with one side of white.