Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 20, 2024, 08:14:29 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Can't find workers? I can't find work!

Started by phoenix, September 04, 2010, 05:14:46 am

Previous topic - Next topic

phoenix

I have over 30 years experience as an auto trimmer/upholsterer/marine canvas/awning/aircraft/furniture tech/finisher.I've been an employee and an employer.
I've seen good times and bad in this business...Right now things are tough,so I've been looking for work.I have applied to many jobs on the internet(nationwide)but receive no responses.Any of the smaller companies looking for skilled people are not willing to pay a fair wage.I am willing to relocate,but no one is willing to step up to the plate and pay for any or part of relocation costs.What do you expect to pay a skilled upholsterer?I've got the skill...who's willing to step up to the plate!

206RB

September 04, 2010, 04:10:46 pm #1 Last Edit: September 04, 2010, 04:29:35 pm by 206RB
I also have more than 30 years exp. 35 to be exact. I'm getting paid 33 an hour with 2 weeks vacation, 1 week sick pay and health insurance. I haven't ever been unemployed in those 35 years. That's the good part. The bad part is I work my but off and I'm starting to get a bad attitude too :) (I just want to go fishing)
Go where the money is.

206RB

San Fransisco??? Not a state. But I hear the city employees can get a free sex change if they want.

206RB

Well, I'm glad  don't live there then.
Mike
Quote from: Ihavenoname on September 06, 2010, 03:15:12 pm
Yep it's true.

http://www.sfgsa.org/index.aspx?page=391