Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 10, 2024, 03:47:40 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

used Pfaff in my future?

Started by brim, June 30, 2010, 07:54:29 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

brim

First time post, newbie to all of this, hope all of your collective knowledge can help a guy out.

I'm a day away from inspecting at a Pfaff 545-H4-6/1, considering the price, I don't want to pass it up.
The seller (private) received the 545 from a retired upholsterer, and was assured it ran.
The guy never used it, and now needs to get it out of his garage. Pretty good vibe from him.
I'm new to industrial machines, but have used lighter duty machines. I'm mechanically inclined
and could change a motor or pulley if needed.

My question is: what are the most important aspects of THIS machine to look at?
I know this is a broad and simple question, and I can feel the newbie hazing coming, but hey, what ever it takes
to advance my work, I'm good with that!

Thanks in advance for all your replies.

gene

Howdy and welcome to the forum.

No newbie hazing intended.

The most important question to me is "Does it run?" And if it does, how well does it run. It sounds like you are going to put money down on a strangers' (the seller) word. And if it doesn't run, it's not the seller's fault, it's the unknown upholsterer who obviously lied to the seller. The seller is really sorry, but no, you can't have your money back.