Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 14, 2024, 06:05:02 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Help with upholstering kids Chiropractic table

Started by pentzy, July 12, 2015, 07:48:35 am

Previous topic - Next topic

pentzy

So i am extremely new to upholstering, but have decided to build a kids Chiropractic table.  I made a .5 x 7" opening in the plywood base and a 2 x 7" opening in the foam.  My original plan was to cut the vinyl and wrap it through to the underside of the wood.  However, I am unsure how to properly cut the vinyl to wrap it properly.  I am following the golden rule, "measure twice, cut once."  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Here is the link, it was too big for the post.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/7oxl9u31n4j2cbp/2015-07-12%2010.16.51.jpg?dl=0

Darren Henry

Your best bet would be to sew in a gusset. cut your top vinyl to the notch in the foam leaving a seam allowance. Then sew a strip of vinyl wide enough to allow a seam allowance and enough to work with after you pass it through the wood,to the notch in the top vinyl. Think of it as lining the hole.

I would also suggest you cut the plywood to the same size as the notch in the foam. That way you are working with straight lines and square corners.Not only will that make it alot easier for you, it will give a much nicer finished look as the vinyl will be supported by the foam all the way down. grin It'll also keep the kids with big noses from getting stuck to the vinyl LOL.

Life is a short one way trip, don't blow it!Live hard,die young and leave no ill regrets!

sofadoc