Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 14, 2024, 02:58:23 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

How to replace leather on an office chair?

Started by alekdavis, March 27, 2018, 04:53:07 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

alekdavis

March 27, 2018, 04:53:07 pm Last Edit: March 27, 2018, 05:03:06 pm by alekdavis
I want to reupholster a couple of office chairs using leather I reclaimed from an old couch, and being a total novice, I just need someone to help me make sure I do not do anything crazy. Here are the questions.

1. I assume I can buy a leather stitching kit and stitch them by hand. Can I?
2. I'm planning to saw the leather pieces together with the exposed edges. How do I make the edges look even and nice? Should I cut to size first, and then stitch them together, or should I stitch them first and then cut? Doesn't need to be perfect, but more or less even.
3. Which instrument should I use for cutting leather: a utility knife, special scissors, something else?
4. Should I apply interfacing fabric to the leather back part to make it stronger (the couch leather is not very thick). I'm particularly concerned about the pockets into which the frame of the chair goes. Need to make them sturdy. Or is there something better than interfacing. If using interfacing, which one would make sense: stitch on or iron on? Is there a particular brand to recommend?
5. Any other things I need to consider?

Many thanks in advance.