Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 15, 2024, 03:12:42 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

years

Started by chrisberry12, August 31, 2014, 06:17:03 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

chrisberry12

ok here is a question, How many years have each of you been upholstering and what do you specialize in, Ie: furniture, cars, boats etc...

I have been upholstering for 32 years and I reupholster furniture and the occasional boat

MinUph

This year makes it 46 years doing Upholstery. I took off about 10 years of fulltime work only doing it occasionally but all in all 46 yrs. I do mostly furniture both residential and commercial. Some boat work. I've done automotive but don't like to mix cars, or boats with furniture they are too dirty. I do also do bike seats as they are small and not all that dirty.
Paul
Minichillo's Upholstery
Website

sofadoc

I'm 56 now. I was pressing buttons at 5. Been working in the family business ever since. It's been my full-time career since my teens. I worked a few "outside" jobs along the way. But upholstery work has paid the bills most of my life.

Furniture only. I dabbled in cars and boats a little in my younger days. But furniture was what I "cut my teeth on", and I've never had a shortage of furniture work. So I never had any real reason to branch out.
"Perfection is the greatest enemy of profitability" - Mark Cuban

Mike

I started this at 33  21 years ago strickly boat upholstery and canvas and the odd sewing job reciently a shade sail

SteveA

Over 40 years - early on in a cabinet shop / finisher - now full time furniture repair.  No regrets -  many up sides -