Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 13, 2024, 11:47:26 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Newbie here. Question about reinforcing a headboard

Started by stutterstep, May 14, 2012, 09:57:57 am

Previous topic - Next topic

stutterstep

Hello all.  I admire your friendliness and expertise in this forum.  I came here a few years ago to learn about upholstering a sofa.  It still looks good!  (I am not professional)

My new project is a pair of twin headboards (1960's) for a king bed.  I have recovered them twice and want to do it again.  Their construction is basically a wood frame that originally had only padding in the blank middle area.  I couldn't lean back against them too much, my weight would just stretch everything.  I'd like to add a solid sturdy reinforcement like a piece of plywood so I can actually pile a pillow or two on them and lean back.  But they are old and very heavy already and plywood would add to that quite a bit.  Besides plywood, can you recommend a lighter material that would be strong?  I thought about webbing but worry it would also give too much.   What do you think? 

stutterstep

May 14, 2012, 10:10:46 am #1 Last Edit: May 14, 2012, 07:15:36 pm by stutterstep