Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 15, 2024, 02:12:21 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

air compressor

Started by jhaynes4494, March 09, 2011, 06:13:24 am

Previous topic - Next topic

jhaynes4494

I'm just getting started in the business and I love it!  My question is... for a beginner, what size air compressor should I purchase?  My goal is to use the air stapler gun.  What should the PSI ?

mike802

Choose your gun first, it should have the specs listed as how much air flow it requires and also what air pressure the manufacture suggest.  You should be able to adjust the psi with a dial and a valve if the air compressor does not have one built it.  Once you know what the gun requires you can match the compressor to the gun.  You shouldn't need anything more than a small contractors compressor, but be forewarned they can be loud, so quiet operation should also be a consideration.
"Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power" - Abraham Lincoln
http://www.mjamsdenfurniture.com

MinUph

Speaking of noise. The compressors that do require oil are much quieter than the oil-less models.
  As for size a 1 HP model will service you well. Most staplers will run at around 80 -90 PSI in hardwood. You will find other uses for air so get one a bit larger than a stapler needs. CFM is the most important spec.
Paul
Minichillo's Upholstery
Website

byhammerandhand

Staplers can run on a very small compressor.   Some of the questions to ask yourself:

- Do I need this to be portable?
- Do I have access to 240v?   A dedicated 120 circuit?  Or shared 120v?