Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 16, 2024, 05:05:10 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Rocking Chair repair

Started by red owl, March 17, 2017, 08:49:16 am

Previous topic - Next topic

red owl

Hi- I'm a newbie.  I have a rocking chair whose seat has 4 zig zag springs of which the middle two are broken.  I've done some research on the repair but it seems like there are a few options.
1. The springs were 1/8" diameter  which I think is 11 Gauge.  From what I can tell the 11 gauge should be used for backs but not seats- so that might have been a problem.
2. The springs have no twine or links connecting them.
3. I ordered some 9 gauge springs which are supposed to be heavier and correct for a seat.  I plan to remove all four of the old springs and replace them with the heavier springs.  The clips in the frame seem to be stapled. I'll pull them out and put in new clips and nails. 
4. The inside frame is 14"- I think the chart says to cut to 13 1/2" and stretch out.  What do you do if the bends are such that you can't get that exact length?
5. The spring- cut with a hacksaw?  I read you are then supposed to put a slight bend in the cut area so the spring can't slip out of the clip. I read you can put the spring in a vise and hammer the end over a little.