Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 18, 2024, 01:25:27 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Headliner blues.... sometimes

Started by Uncle Lar, August 16, 2011, 09:40:04 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Uncle Lar

So, let me throw this out here.  I have been installing headliners for a few years now.  Not everyday, but i'd  say long enough to have decent experience with them.  In general, they turn out nice, and the customers are happy with them.  I made one for a 37 chevy street rod last year and it turned out really nice, and the customer loves it.  However, there have been some pre-made ones lately that seem to be extra stubborn, and I'm not sure if I need to change my technique ( very, very possible...), or if there are issues with how these headliners actually fit the cars.
   The problem comes in removing the wrinkles between the bows, where the ends of the bows meet the body of the car.  It often seems like there is just a little more material between the bows than I actually want, so when I attach the fabric (usually vinyl) to the car, I get the dreaded little "tee pee" coming off the bows.  If I lessen how much I stretch, then I don't have enough tension on the fabric between the bows, and it just looks too loose.