Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 08, 2024, 01:09:50 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Sewing a T-Cushion Deck (where portable cushion lays)

Started by baileyuph, July 21, 2016, 06:20:04 am

Previous topic - Next topic

baileyuph

Done these for years, observed how factory sews the 45 degree corners, but I am not an expert every time I do one of these. 

Wish I had a picture but the touble usually is

1.  Where to start sewing to keep the deck material symmetrically aligned with the front edge which is the selected upholstery material and the deck is usually the denim.

2.  The corner in the sides where the denim is sewn to the uph mat. can not always lay at a 90 degree. (seems but not always depends on how the bias sewn selvage is layed or separated.

This question came up on a couple of T-decks that I made this week.  The material wasn't real flimsy to sew or pattern but I sure had a time and tried all option on starting points and how I positioned the 45 degree selvage seam that comes from fabric/denim 90 degree corner out to the deck corner.

I don't see factories having major problems but sometimes it isn't easy.  Tried sewing the 45 degree bias seam to the deck connection by stopping the seam (back sewing to tie off) to the seam allowance and sewing this same seam all the way to the end, and also tried laying the seam allowance (on 45 degree seam) to the right, to the left, and spread flat - tried all!

All ears!
Doyle

kodydog