Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 12, 2024, 01:00:23 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

3 Panel Room Divider Screen

Started by sunapeeupholstery, December 23, 2011, 07:10:43 am

Previous topic - Next topic

sunapeeupholstery

December 23, 2011, 07:10:43 am Last Edit: December 27, 2011, 02:39:21 pm by sunapeeupholstery
I've just been asked for a quote on a 3 paneled room divider screen that is currently just a frame.

I've never done something like this before and would appreciate any construction or pricing tips.

It seems very straight forward though: staple two equal sized pieces of fabric to each panel (possibly with thin padding in between) and hot glue gimp over the staples.  Any additions?

Pricing I would say $100.  Less or more?

bobbin

Sounds like you've got a decent plan, Sunapee.  Just keep track of your time carefully to find out if your pricing is in the ballpark.  You will never lose money if you work "stock and time"; but unless you track your time honestly it's easy to undersell yourself. 

(you from NH?)

Mike

I was wondering the same Bobbin. Sounds like lake sunapee

sunapeeupholstery

The upholstery side seems easier then the business side sometimes.  Let me see if I understand you; I give the estimate, keep track of my time on the project then deliver the completed project with the invoice (which could have a higher or lower labor cost, depending on my time?). 

I know that makes the most sense business-wise but as a beginner I'm having trouble telling the customer that.

And yes I'm right near Lake Sunapee in New Hampshire.

bobbin