Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 21, 2024, 05:59:51 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

New Machine

Started by GMP, February 22, 2011, 02:19:59 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

GMP

I joined because this is the best discussion board that I have found and is extremely informative. At this point and time I am just a hobbyist (Last 3 or 4 years) but hope to make a part time fun business out of it when I retire from my full time job in 3 years. FYI- My full time job has nothing to do with upholstery or sewing. I purchased a portable Thompson PW301with the standard little motor that it comes with for my beginners machine and have used it for many Sunbrella and Vinyl related projects. The machine was marginal to say the least on some of the Sunbrella projects as I was going through up to 5 or 6 layers at times. I am also looking to do some Ultraleather projects as well in the future. I am ready to move up to a better machine. I am planning on selling the Thompson and I want the next machine that I purchase to be my last. I am considering the Juki 1541S with the Artisan servo motor but also like the Pfaff 1245. The Juki costs quite a bit less than the Pfaff which makes it even more attractive. My question is this---Knowing the type of materials that I work with (Sunbrella, Vinyl, Ultraleather, etc) are these 2 machines to heavy duty for what they will be used for? I know that a lot of you all sew on heavy leather which I do not plan on doing (But who knows). Would really appreciate machine recommendations from you pros out there if you don't mind. I did read the newbee section for machine recommendations but it seemed to