Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 17, 2024, 11:50:48 pm

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Contrast thread

Started by kat, April 20, 2012, 04:23:57 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

kat

The THREAD NYLON T-270 "CONTRAST" that Miami corp has.. anyone used it, what are your thoughts on using on a fabric car interior?? I am looking for a bright red thread to use against the black panther material in a firebird that is our sons and am having trouble finding sunguard red in 138.

bobbin

I have no practical experience with Sunguard 138, aside from black, white, and grey.  But, I know from long experience that reds have a major fade problem when it comes to solution dyed acrylic fabric.  There is a chance that this isn't an issue with polyester thread, but if you're having trouble finding a true red you may well be hunting for something that won't hold up well over time in strong UV. 

Mojo

I have had great luck with Sunguard 138 but have never used the red color. I have never experienced bleed or fade issues on textilene, vinyl or acrylics. I would contact MiamiMike directly and talk to him about it. He knows what is working and what isn't because he gets constant feedback from a multitude of customers. When customers have issues with any of their products they will go back to Mike.

I admit I do not know enough sometimes about different products so anytime I have questions about materials I go to Mike and he typically will have the answer. He is an awesome resource for me and all of us here.

His e-mail address is: MWeunski@miamicorp.com

Phone: 513-298-5519

Mike is probably going to be your best resource.

Chris

Mike