Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 02, 2024, 03:24:40 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

Aviation Upholstery Project (Cost of Materials)

Started by Taylor521, March 23, 2011, 02:31:25 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Taylor521

March 23, 2011, 02:31:25 pm Last Edit: March 23, 2011, 02:42:10 pm by Taylor521
Hi, I have a question about the cost of materials.  I am not actually an upholsterer so I am not entirely familiar with the process of upholstering or building a seat.  I am a commercial aviation student at the University of North Dakota and in my aviation management class my group is proposing a business plan for an aircraft upholstering business.  I have been given the responsibility of finding out what the cost of materials for building an aircraft seat for a small general aviation seat (eg. C172 seats) would run.  I would imagine this could generate discussion that might be educational for all of us.  

Here's a guideline...  How much do you think it cost this guy to build the seat in this you tube video?  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f24kj03oEmo&feature=channel_video_title

Any feedback is appreciated, thanks!

Ihavenoname

A seat for a  172 will take about 3 yards of fabric. If leather figure 2/3 a large hide or so.  IF you replace the seat foam you will need 3 inch foam about 20 X 20 is a guess. The back foam should be fine.  The seat in the video will take about 6 to 8 hours of labor time. 

Material cost about $200 for fabric

Leather about $600

labor $300 to $500 is a guess.

NDAV8R

Hey there Taylor: