Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
Need Help? Call Us 415-423-3313
  • Welcome to The Upholster.com Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 17, 2024, 11:56:00 am

News:

Welcome to our new upholstery forum with an updated theme and improved functionality. We welcome your comments and questions to our forum! Visit our main website, Upholster.com, for our extensive supply of upholstery products, instructional information and videos, and much more.

How do I make perfectly-spaced holes in my leather with my awl?

Started by Rockworthy, February 17, 2011, 05:50:51 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Rockworthy

Hello again, I have another total noob question: I want to hand stitch a steering wheel cover onto my car.  I have been researching how to do this for quite some time, but there is so many little details it's hard to get all the information in one place. 

Once I have my pattern for the leather I'm using and I cut out my piece of leather, I want to make holes with my awl along the seams before stitching.  However, how do I make perfect holes the perfect distance apart, in a perfectly straight line?  Is there some kind of tool that can mark the spots for the awl, so that I don't have to just "eyeball it"? This is all by hand, mind you, I don't have a machine.

Thanks Forumers!

DIYdaredevil

Three possible ideas.

(1) Dressmakers rule, it's a 4" wide by 15" long ruler with slots placed lengthwise down the ruler that you can line up with the edge of the leather and then use the ruler markings along the edge to space your holes where you want them.  Can find in most sewing or craft stores. Pro: easy to find and inexpensive. Con: you have to watch your spacing.

(2) Shelf hole drilling jig, the clear plastic kind, which has holes at 1/2" or 1" apart, can find in some hardware stores.  Pro: Somewhat easy to find (you may have to ask where they hide them in store). Con: Spacing may not be where you want.